English Weekly Journal : Week 15

Hi!

For this week, we continued working on the Small Change article, listening quiz, and started a new topic about Text Types.

If you read my posts starting from around 5 to 6 weeks ago, you might wonder why we haven’t finish working on the article yet. The thing is, writing an article is not an easy thing to do, more like writing in general. It’s not only brainstorming and the you write it down. There are steps you need to do to make it a perfect piece of writing.

To make a perfect-planned-structured writing, it all starts with brainstorming the ideas. When you know the big theme of the writing, it’s easy to brainstorm the ideas and make the topic more focused on one thing only. In this case, my Small Change article talks about the reward and challenges in starting a new business. Using mind map can be a big help for brainstorming. The next process is outlining the paragraphs, your ideas are arranged in points on each paragraph. Next is to do the drafting, you write the article based on the outline. Followed by the revising and editing process. Check the grammar, capital letters, and punctuation marks used in your articles. Using online grammar checker can also be a big help. After that is proofreading, read your revised article from start to finish. Peer proofreading is also a way to help you write as your friends can make a comment on your writing. After all the process, the last thing to do is, of course, publish the writing. Be it on your blogs, magazines, or anything.

In short, the process goes like this :

  1. Brainstorming ideas
  2. Outlining paragraphs
  3. Drafting
  4. Revising and Editing
  5. Proofreading
  6. Publishing

We were supposed to do the peer proofreading for the Small Change article this week, but some of us forgot to print out the article. So, Ms.Evi had no choice but to postpone it.

This week, we also start a new topic on Text Types. We learned about Letters, Diaries, Autobiography and memoirs, Biography and character portraits, Articles and features, Reviews and writing to comment, Speeches, voice-over scripts, and debates, Promotional texts, and Campaign Literature.

We did a project, we had to make a mind map about one of the text types and make it prettily. My partner and I got biography and character portraits. This is how our mind map looks like. I think it’s quite pretty!

Actually, we had to do a presentation about our topic in front of the class. But the time was up right before my turn, plus my partner was absent that day. So, I had to do the presentation on the next week.

Oh, I almost forgot about the listening quiz. We had the TOEFL listening quiz this week, I was not confident at all about my results, out of 8 questions I got 2 wrong answers. I had a hard time since we only got to listen to the recording once because it is a quiz and not just a practice. I hope I can do much better next time.

Week 15 was fun although I was really busy. I hope I can continue to work on improving my writing, listening, and speaking skills. Thanks for reading. Have a nice day!

 

Leave a Reply

