English Weekly Journal : Week 16

Hello!

It’s the end of the week and I have plenty times to work on my late journals hehe. If I’m in the mood then I’ll post about week 17 directly after this. Well, it’s time to work! Chop chop!

From what I remember nothing much happened in week 16. We had the same old TOEFL listening practices, which I had a hard time with, and a simple activity to learn about topic sentences. Oh, and the text types group presentation session too.

Just like the previous practices, the TOEFL listening practice was still hard for me. I’m not sure whether it was because the room was small so the sound was a bit “stuffed” (okay how am I supposed to explain this, let’s just say it’s kind of resounding(???)) or was it because I probably had problems with my hearing. I don’t know, let’s just hope I can do better in the next quizzes to come.

We also did a small activity to study a bit about topic sentence. Topic sentence is the sentences that talks about the main idea of the paragraph, usually it’s in the start of the paragraph, the first sentence. It is important to learn about topic sentence, because using it in writing a long article is a very big help for the readers to summarize the whole piece without needing to read it over and over again. It was quite fun, we were given few problems about topic sentences from a website, if I’m not wrong. I’ll search for it again later, when I have time, to practice my skill.

I had the presentation for the text type this week too. Believe it or not, my partner was absent for the whole week. She was away on a camping trip (?) to Jogja. In the end, I had to do the presentation alone and since I didn’t really understand the characteristics of character portraits, I didn’t talk much hehe. Oh, when other groups are giving their presentation, we had to write the points of each text types on a piece of paper too.

I had so many things to do that week that I can’t really remember much today hehe, sorry. Have a nice day everyone!

Leave a Reply

